Skip to main content
reformatted the whole question if that is ok!
Source Link
jonrsharpe
  • 120.4k
  • 30
  • 256
  • 457

I'm trying to create an effect where I have 3 lines of text. The text in the middle signifies the "now". The text on the bottom signifies "yesterday" and text above signifies "tomorrow". The "effect" is that the text is on a drum that rotates to display the "now" while also allowing the viewer to see previous and upcoming text.

Example (Mademade in photoshopPhotoshop):

Made in Photoshop

I think this is possible based on this examplethis example on Mozilla (click and drag on the X rotation): https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/CSS/CSS_transforms.

The problem is that Whateverwhatever I try using rotation does that, it rotates the text, make the text smaller, larger or skews it (make it look like italics), instead of allowing me to change the "shape" of the text. Changing the shape is apparently possible based on the link I shared. However, I am not able to find out how to do that, hence the request for help.

I want CSS to allow me to change the shape of the text (as illustrated in the image above).

This is my code. This doesn't work (it squashes it vertically, but there's no shortening of the top of the text):

<html>
<head>
<style>
body {
  background-color:#E7E9EB;
}
#myDIV {
  height:300px;
  background-color:#FFFFFF;
}
#blueDIV {
  position:relative;
  width:100px;
  padding:10px;
  background-color:lightblue;
  transform: rotateX(45deg);
}
</style>
</head>
<body>

<h1>The transform property</h1>

<div id="myDIV">
<div id="blueDIV">THIS</div>
</div>

</body>
</html>
<html>
<head>
<style>
body {
  background-color:#E7E9EB;
}
#myDIV {
  height:300px;
  background-color:#FFFFFF;
}
#blueDIV {
  position:relative;
  width:100px;
  padding:10px;
  background-color:lightblue;
  transform: rotateX(45deg);
}
</style>
</head>
<body>

<h1>The transform property</h1>

<div id="myDIV">
<div id="blueDIV">THIS</div>
</div>

</body>
</html>

P.S. theseThese questions I've I've found on here only deal with drawing of shapes behind the text - not the text itself.

I'm trying to create an effect where I have 3 lines of text. The text in the middle signifies the "now". The text on the bottom signifies "yesterday" and text above signifies "tomorrow". The "effect" is that the text is on a drum that rotates to display the "now" while also allowing the viewer to see previous and upcoming text.

Example (Made in photoshop):

Made in Photoshop

I think this is possible based on this example on Mozilla (click and drag on the X rotation): https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/CSS/CSS_transforms

The problem is that Whatever I try using rotation does that, it rotates the text, make the text smaller, larger or skews it (make it look like italics), instead of allowing me to change the "shape" of the text. Changing the shape is apparently possible based on the link I shared. However, I am not able to find out how to do that, hence the request for help.

I want CSS to allow me to change the shape of the text (as illustrated in the image above).

This is my code. This doesn't work (it squashes it vertically, but there's no shortening of the top of the text:

<html>
<head>
<style>
body {
  background-color:#E7E9EB;
}
#myDIV {
  height:300px;
  background-color:#FFFFFF;
}
#blueDIV {
  position:relative;
  width:100px;
  padding:10px;
  background-color:lightblue;
  transform: rotateX(45deg);
}
</style>
</head>
<body>

<h1>The transform property</h1>

<div id="myDIV">
<div id="blueDIV">THIS</div>
</div>

</body>
</html>

P.S. these questions I've found on here only deal with drawing of shapes behind the text - not the text itself.

I'm trying to create an effect where I have 3 lines of text. The text in the middle signifies the "now". The text on the bottom signifies "yesterday" and text above signifies "tomorrow". The "effect" is that the text is on a drum that rotates to display the "now" while also allowing the viewer to see previous and upcoming text.

Example (made in Photoshop):

Made in Photoshop

I think this is possible based on this example on Mozilla (click and drag on the X rotation).

The problem is that whatever I try using rotation does that, it rotates the text, make the text smaller, larger or skews it (make it look like italics), instead of allowing me to change the "shape" of the text. Changing the shape is apparently possible based on the link I shared. However, I am not able to find out how to do that.

This is my code. This doesn't work (it squashes it vertically, but there's no shortening of the top of the text):

<html>
<head>
<style>
body {
  background-color:#E7E9EB;
}
#myDIV {
  height:300px;
  background-color:#FFFFFF;
}
#blueDIV {
  position:relative;
  width:100px;
  padding:10px;
  background-color:lightblue;
  transform: rotateX(45deg);
}
</style>
</head>
<body>

<h1>The transform property</h1>

<div id="myDIV">
<div id="blueDIV">THIS</div>
</div>

</body>
</html>

These questions I've found on here only deal with drawing of shapes behind the text - not the text itself.

reformatted the whole question if that is ok!
Source Link

Example (Made in photoshop):

I think this is possible based on this example on Mozilla (click and drag on the X rotation):    https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/CSS/CSS_transforms

I've tried a number of ways, but they all just make the text smaller, larger or skew it (make it look like italics).

P.S. these questions I've found on here only deal with drawing of shapes behind the text - not the text itself.


Edit

So instead of asking for more specific details in the comments, 2 of you have recommended that I close this, along with down-votes. If you're really voting things like this down instead of moving on because you don't know the answer, then I have nothing for you.

However, as the subtext of that close reason was:

The question should be updated to include desired behavior, a specific problem or error, and the shortest code necessary to reproduce the problem.

I'll go ahead and provide exactly those for you.

1: The question should be updated to include desired behavior.

The desired behaviour is that I want CSS to allow me to change the shape of the text (as illustrated in the image above).

2: A specific problem or error.

The problem is that Whatever I try using rotation does that, it rotates the text, make the text smaller, larger or skews it (make it look like italics), instead of allowing me to change the "shape" of the text. Changing the shape is apparently possible based on the link I shared. However, I am not able to find out how to do that, hence the request for help.

3: And the shortest code necessaryI want CSS to reproduceallow me to change the problemshape of the text (as illustrated in the image above).

Fair enough, noThis is my code was included, so here you go... This doesn't work (it squashes it vertically, but there's no shortening of the top of the text:

<html>
<head>
<style>
body {
  background-color:#E7E9EB;
}
#myDIV {
  height:300px;
  background-color:#FFFFFF;
}
#blueDIV {
  position:relative;
  width:100px;
  padding:10px;
  background-color:lightblue;
  transform: rotateX(45deg);
}
</style>
</head>
<body>

<h1>The transform property</h1>

<div id="myDIV">
<div id="blueDIV">THIS</div>
</div>

</body>
</html>
<html>
<head>
<style>
body {
  background-color:#E7E9EB;
}
#myDIV {
  height:300px;
  background-color:#FFFFFF;
}
#blueDIV {
  position:relative;
  width:100px;
  padding:10px;
  background-color:lightblue;
  transform: rotateX(45deg);
}
</style>
</head>
<body>

<h1>The transform property</h1>

<div id="myDIV">
<div id="blueDIV">THIS</div>
</div>

</body>
</html>

P.S. these questions I've found on here only deal with drawing of shapes behind the text - not the text itself.

Example:

I think this is possible based on this example on Mozilla (click and drag on the X rotation):  https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/CSS/CSS_transforms

I've tried a number of ways, but they all just make the text smaller, larger or skew it (make it look like italics).

P.S. these questions I've found on here only deal with drawing of shapes behind the text - not the text itself.


Edit

So instead of asking for more specific details in the comments, 2 of you have recommended that I close this, along with down-votes. If you're really voting things like this down instead of moving on because you don't know the answer, then I have nothing for you.

However, as the subtext of that close reason was:

The question should be updated to include desired behavior, a specific problem or error, and the shortest code necessary to reproduce the problem.

I'll go ahead and provide exactly those for you.

1: The question should be updated to include desired behavior.

The desired behaviour is that I want CSS to allow me to change the shape of the text (as illustrated in the image above).

2: A specific problem or error.

The problem is that Whatever I try using rotation does that, it rotates the text or skews it, instead of allowing me to change the "shape" of the text. Changing the shape is apparently possible based on the link I shared. However, I am not able to find out how to do that, hence the request for help.

3: And the shortest code necessary to reproduce the problem.

Fair enough, no code was included, so here you go... This doesn't work (it squashes it vertically, but there's no shortening of the top of the text:

<html>
<head>
<style>
body {
  background-color:#E7E9EB;
}
#myDIV {
  height:300px;
  background-color:#FFFFFF;
}
#blueDIV {
  position:relative;
  width:100px;
  padding:10px;
  background-color:lightblue;
  transform: rotateX(45deg);
}
</style>
</head>
<body>

<h1>The transform property</h1>

<div id="myDIV">
<div id="blueDIV">THIS</div>
</div>

</body>
</html>

Example (Made in photoshop):

I think this is possible based on this example on Mozilla (click and drag on the X rotation):  https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/CSS/CSS_transforms

The problem is that Whatever I try using rotation does that, it rotates the text, make the text smaller, larger or skews it (make it look like italics), instead of allowing me to change the "shape" of the text. Changing the shape is apparently possible based on the link I shared. However, I am not able to find out how to do that, hence the request for help.

I want CSS to allow me to change the shape of the text (as illustrated in the image above).

This is my code. This doesn't work (it squashes it vertically, but there's no shortening of the top of the text:

<html>
<head>
<style>
body {
  background-color:#E7E9EB;
}
#myDIV {
  height:300px;
  background-color:#FFFFFF;
}
#blueDIV {
  position:relative;
  width:100px;
  padding:10px;
  background-color:lightblue;
  transform: rotateX(45deg);
}
</style>
</head>
<body>

<h1>The transform property</h1>

<div id="myDIV">
<div id="blueDIV">THIS</div>
</div>

</body>
</html>

P.S. these questions I've found on here only deal with drawing of shapes behind the text - not the text itself.

Post Closed as "Duplicate" by j08691, imhvost, TylerH css
pandering to trolls
Source Link
Jim
  • 2.4k
  • 2
  • 14
  • 20

I'm trying to create an effect where I have 3 lines of text. The text in the middle signifies the "now". The text on the bottom signifies "yesterday" and text above signifies "tomorrow". The "effect" is that the text is on a drum that rotates to display the "now" while also allowing the viewer to see previous and upcoming text.

Example:

Made in Photoshop

I think this is possible based on this example on Mozilla (click and drag on the X rotation): https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/CSS/CSS_transforms

I've tried a number of ways, but they all just make the text smaller, larger or skew it (make it look like italics).

P.S. these questions I've found on here only deal with drawing of shapes behind the text - not the text itself.


Edit

So instead of asking for more specific details in the comments, 2 of you have recommended that I close this, along with down-votes. If you're really voting things like this down instead of moving on because you don't know the answer, then I have nothing for you.

However, as the subtext of that close reason was:

The question should be updated to include desired behavior, a specific problem or error, and the shortest code necessary to reproduce the problem.

I'll go ahead and provide exactly those for you.

1: The question should be updated to include desired behavior.

The desired behaviour is that I want CSS to allow me to change the shape of the text (as illustrated in the image above).

2: A specific problem or error.

The problem is that Whatever I try using rotation does that, it rotates the text or skews it, instead of allowing me to change the "shape" of the text. Changing the shape is apparently possible based on the link I shared. However, I am not able to find out how to do that, hence the request for help.

3: And the shortest code necessary to reproduce the problem.

Fair enough, no code was included, so here you go... This doesn't work (it squashes it vertically, but there's no shortening of the top of the text:

<html>
<head>
<style>
body {
  background-color:#E7E9EB;
}
#myDIV {
  height:300px;
  background-color:#FFFFFF;
}
#blueDIV {
  position:relative;
  width:100px;
  padding:10px;
  background-color:lightblue;
  transform: rotateX(45deg);
}
</style>
</head>
<body>

<h1>The transform property</h1>

<div id="myDIV">
<div id="blueDIV">THIS</div>
</div>

</body>
</html>

I'm trying to create an effect where I have 3 lines of text. The text in the middle signifies the "now". The text on the bottom signifies "yesterday" and text above signifies "tomorrow". The "effect" is that the text is on a drum that rotates to display the "now" while also allowing the viewer to see previous and upcoming text.

Example:

Made in Photoshop

I think this is possible based on this example on Mozilla (click and drag on the X rotation): https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/CSS/CSS_transforms

I've tried a number of ways, but they all just make the text smaller, larger or skew it (make it look like italics).

P.S. these questions I've found on here only deal with drawing of shapes behind the text - not the text itself.

I'm trying to create an effect where I have 3 lines of text. The text in the middle signifies the "now". The text on the bottom signifies "yesterday" and text above signifies "tomorrow". The "effect" is that the text is on a drum that rotates to display the "now" while also allowing the viewer to see previous and upcoming text.

Example:

Made in Photoshop

I think this is possible based on this example on Mozilla (click and drag on the X rotation): https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/CSS/CSS_transforms

I've tried a number of ways, but they all just make the text smaller, larger or skew it (make it look like italics).

P.S. these questions I've found on here only deal with drawing of shapes behind the text - not the text itself.


Edit

So instead of asking for more specific details in the comments, 2 of you have recommended that I close this, along with down-votes. If you're really voting things like this down instead of moving on because you don't know the answer, then I have nothing for you.

However, as the subtext of that close reason was:

The question should be updated to include desired behavior, a specific problem or error, and the shortest code necessary to reproduce the problem.

I'll go ahead and provide exactly those for you.

1: The question should be updated to include desired behavior.

The desired behaviour is that I want CSS to allow me to change the shape of the text (as illustrated in the image above).

2: A specific problem or error.

The problem is that Whatever I try using rotation does that, it rotates the text or skews it, instead of allowing me to change the "shape" of the text. Changing the shape is apparently possible based on the link I shared. However, I am not able to find out how to do that, hence the request for help.

3: And the shortest code necessary to reproduce the problem.

Fair enough, no code was included, so here you go... This doesn't work (it squashes it vertically, but there's no shortening of the top of the text:

<html>
<head>
<style>
body {
  background-color:#E7E9EB;
}
#myDIV {
  height:300px;
  background-color:#FFFFFF;
}
#blueDIV {
  position:relative;
  width:100px;
  padding:10px;
  background-color:lightblue;
  transform: rotateX(45deg);
}
</style>
</head>
<body>

<h1>The transform property</h1>

<div id="myDIV">
<div id="blueDIV">THIS</div>
</div>

</body>
</html>
Source Link
Jim
  • 2.4k
  • 2
  • 14
  • 20
Loading